The Feminist Press and TAYO Literary Magazine invite you to join writers and editors in a round-robin event of flash readings celebrating the Louise Meriwether Prize, a contest to honor debut women and nonbinary writers of color. The winner of the contest’s third year will be announced. Light refreshments will be served, and books will be available for sale.

Plus, the winner of this year’s contest will be announced!

Thursday, March 28, 2019

6:30PM - 8:00PM

Ori Gallery
4038 N Mississippi Ave, Portland, OR 97217

Jamia Wilson
Janice Lobo Sapigao
Ivelisse Rodriguez
Camille Acker
Bel Poblador
Melissa Michal
Shana Mirambeau
YZ Chin
Melissa R. Sipin

Jamia Wilson is the executive director of the Feminist Press. Previously, she served as Executive Director of Women, Action & the Media, TED Prize Storyteller, and VP of Programs at Women’s Media Center. She has contributed to New York Magazine, The New York Times, and The Today Show, among others.

Janice Lobo Sapigao is a daughter of immigrants from the Philippines. She is the author of the poetry collection: microchips for millions, about immigrant women in the Silicon Valley, and like a solid to a shadow, about family, language, and fatherlessness. She is an editor of TAYO Literary Magazine.

Ivelisse Rodriguez’s story collection Love War Stories is a 2019 PEN/Faulkner finalist. She earned a BA from Columbia University, a MFA from Emerson College, and a PhD  from the University of Illinois–Chicago. She has also published in All about Skin, Kweli Journal, Boston Review, and Bilingual Review, among others.

Marygrace Burns (mgb) is a writer/educator living in the Bay Area. An editor of TAYO Literary Magazine, her publications include The Operating System and her plays can be seen on stage at Bindlestiff Studio. She is an alumna of the VONA/Voices Conference, Naropa University’s Summer Writing Program, and VORTEXT Hedgebrook.

Camille Acker authored Training School for Negro Girls and co-edited Dismantle: An Anthology from the VONA/Voices Workshop. Her work has appeared in The New York Times, VICE, and LitHub, among others. She holds a BA from Howard University and an MFA from New Mexico State University, where she currently teaches.

Bel Poblador is a Los Angeles–born writer who lives, loves, and creates in the Bay Area. She received her MFA in Writing from CalArts and is a Kundiman Fiction Fellow. Bel is a rock that holds the ocean.

Melissa Michal is of Seneca descent and is a fiction writer, essayist, photographer, and professor. She is the author of Living on the Borderlines, and received an MFA from Chatham University, an MA from Pennsylvania State University, and PhD from Arizona State University. She currently lives in Tacoma, Washington.

Shana Mirambeau is an annual guest reader for the Louise Meriwether Book Prize and writes/edits for local small businesses. A Cuban and Haitian American multidisciplinary artist, she has an MFA in Creative Writing with a Concentration in Documentary Strategies from CalArts. She resides in Southern California.

YZ Chin's Though I Get Home (Feminist Press 2018) is the premier winner of the Louise Meriwether First Book Prize. She is also the author of two poetry chapbooks: deter (dancing girl press 2013) and In Passing (Anomalous Press 2019). Raised in Taiping, Malaysia, she currently lives in New York City.

Melissa R. Sipin is the cofounder/editor of TAYO Literary Magazine and partnered with The Feminist Press to help establish the Louise Meriwether Prize. Her work has won fellowships at Poets & Writers, Kundiman, and MacDowell Colony, and is published in SLICE Magazine, Prairie Schooner, LitHub, and Guernica Magazine.

1 Comment